Tuicemen.com

Advanced search  

News:

Alex10  (Build 1.5.3.7 ) is now  available for download ~:0~

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: AHP timers no longer work.  (Read 671 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3196
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
AHP timers no longer work.
« on: December 02, 2015, 04:12:30 am »

The number one reason timers don't work is users identify their dimmable modules incorrectly in AHP. but there are other reasons I've discovered lately which seems to have started in Windows 8.
I'll list some here.
1: Old lamp modules listed as lamp modules.
10WTI in all there wisdom never gave new modules new numbers when the soft start modules began arriving. In their wisdom they reprogramed AHP so it would handles this if designated as lamp modules and added another class for old lamps (non softstart)
2: Since Windows 8 Users started to notice the advanced setup for timers would add 01-01 as the start stop dates to timers this meant they only worked January 1st.
(read on to fix)
3: Wrong AHX file loaded. With Windows 10 upgrades sometimes AHP will use the default file.
though that wasn't my case.
4: With windows 10 came some additional security regarding programs installed into the Programs files(x86) folder.This prevented changes in AHP from taking effect (being saved to AHP configuration files) moving the AHP folder out of the Program Files folder cured this (at least for me)
« Last Edit: October 10, 2017, 07:57:46 am by Tuicemen »
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3196
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: AHP timers no longer work.
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2015, 06:44:35 am »

Since Upgrading to windows 10 I found I had a few timers that no longer worked.
The modules responded to a remote RF  but not to AHP.
after examining AHP I could see the macro being triggered However the code being sent was not that of the module.
Seems I had moved over the wrong old AHX file (CZB)
This old AHX file was exactly the same except for a few module house codes. I expect the house codes where changed to overcome some issue, though for the life of me I don't remember! ??? ::) :`)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3196
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: AHP timers no longer work.
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2017, 07:52:33 am »

I revisited the advanced timer issue.
I noticed that old timers created with the advanced option in Windows 7 still had the correct start/stop dates.
However attempting to change anything in that timer would auto switch the start dates to 01-01
and stop date to 01-01 rendering tem useless for everyday except new years day.
opening the AHX file I seen the dates were written as 01-01 but changing the AHX file had no affect.
The Fix (work around):
I had remembered AHP would check a file in C:\ProgramData\X10 Settings and use settings from this if it existed.
So to fix advanced timers you need to:
1: Close AHP
2: Then go and edit the ahx file with the proper start/stop dates
3: Delete the file x10active.xml in C:\ProgramData\X10 Settings
4: Restart AHP and update your interface.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!
Pages: [1]