Tuicemen.com

Advanced search  

News:

Alex10  (Build 1.5.3.5 ) is now  available for download ~:0~

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Only works for a short time?[Resolved]  (Read 2149 times)

Fegarex

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Only works for a short time?[Resolved]
« on: August 05, 2015, 05:55:24 pm »

I have the latest full version running on a Vista computer. I am using it moPstly for the VR of my X10 devices. It loads fine and all is well for a few commands. Then after a few minutes or command it goes away.
PCC hears and responds to my attention command but will not respond to the commands even for time or weather. The correct commands show in the text box as well but it seems to just ignore the command.
Any ideas?
« Last Edit: November 29, 2015, 09:13:40 am by Tuicemen »
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Only works for a short time?
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2015, 03:37:01 am »

I never had much luck with vista running anything and never even attempted to install PCC on it.
So I never supported PCC on Vista.
There are a few things you can try however.
1: In the PCC VR settings if you have "Disable Windows VR" checked  then uncheck it.
2: if it is unchecked then check it.
Having windows VR enabled usually causes issues with commands which windows interoperates.

3: Have you tried using WSR Macros and disabling VR in PCC?
I believed they were introduced for Vista and Windows 7. It works very well with PCC in windows 7 though requires extra setup so they send Windows commands to PCC.
WSR macros work better with PCC if you require VR for other Windows tools or programs.

Maybe someone else running PCC in Vista will have some more ideas.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Fegarex

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: Only works for a short time?
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2015, 12:38:24 pm »

I'll do some messing around. I have Vista on this as it is an old computer just dedicated to run my X10 stuff. It is strange as it works for about 5 commands and then just stops. It recognizes the command but just doesn't execute it. I will try the WSR when I get a chance. Thanks.
Logged

Fegarex

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: Only works for a short time?
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2015, 07:12:44 am »

Haven't had a chance to mess with WSR yet but did play more with the VR commands. Doesn't seem to make much difference and I'm not sure the VR is the issue?
PCC will respond to the attention command just fine and after about 4 X10 commands it quits working. The attention command still works and will ask me to repeat a few moments later but the X10 doesn't work via voice. It will via the buttons however.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Only works for a short time?
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2015, 08:39:13 am »

I'll see if I can repeat the issue here on window 8.1.
I just realized my laptop has a built in mic (CZB) ::) :`)
Is PCC registered?
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Fegarex

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: Only works for a short time?
« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2015, 10:01:40 am »

Yes it is registered but didn't seem to make any difference. I also have a laptop running 7 and tried to "simulate" the same thing and it seems to do it. I don't actually have a CM11/15 hooked up but the program seems to act the same as it did on Vista.
I also tried a new install in a different directory to no avail.
Works awesome for about 5 minutes!!  :D

EXTRA.. After about 8 hours of "rest" it suddenly started working again for about another 5 commands and then quit again.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2015, 11:37:35 pm by Fegarex »
Logged

Fegarex

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: Only works for a short time?
« Reply #6 on: August 07, 2015, 03:26:42 pm »

I did spend a little time and tried it on my laptop with Windows 7 and it does the same thing. I will recognize the attention command but does nothing after a few times. About 6 or 8 commands and it just stops. Not just the X10 but time and weather as well.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Only works for a short time?
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2015, 03:47:34 am »

I've yet to get PCC to stop responding.
However if I remember correctly when testing this build I did get PCC to stop performing when I tripped a complicated User created command.
Changing up the user command fixed the issue. Does PCC stop working after a particular VR?
Or is it  time related?
It is possible you have uncovered something I missed when I added code for Ultra.
Send me your "Mysettings.xml" file in case it is a settings thing.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Fegarex

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: Only works for a short time?
« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2015, 04:55:20 am »

I'm only using simple X10 commands at this point. Just "on" and "off".
I will send the files shortly.
Thanks,
Rex
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Only works for a short time?
« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2015, 05:41:06 am »

I'm wondering if there is a issue with flood protection code.
In settings check "Disable flood protection" then save.
I See that when you open settings page again the flood protection displays unchecked  (CZB) I'll need to fix that or each time you open the settings page you'll need to reset that.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Fegarex

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: Only works for a short time?
« Reply #10 on: August 08, 2015, 06:58:26 am »

So far that seems to be working! At least since I checked the box. Been turning lights on and off and the neighbors must think I am nuts!!  :o But then again they probably thought that before. I will keep you posted.
Thanks,
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Only works for a short time?
« Reply #11 on: August 08, 2015, 07:34:49 am »

Hope that's it I'll keep playing here but I only have old incomplete code with me.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Only works for a short time?
« Reply #12 on: November 29, 2015, 09:13:08 am »

I've added code So PCC remembers this setting.
Not sure how I missed that ??? ::) :`)
This will be fixed with the next release so I'll mark this as resolved.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!
Pages: [1]