Tuicemen.com

Advanced search  

News:

Share your Automated House and Ideas in the Members Section! :0~

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: HP Thin clients  (Read 3191 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
HP Thin clients
« on: April 10, 2014, 10:24:14 am »

With support for XP ending I suspect many of these will start to appear in E-Bay by the hundreds.
Most of these have a embedded Windows OS on them.
AHP and or PCC(SkinnyGirl) will run on them or off a USB stick.
Some are upgradeable with more memory and a larger flash drives.
If your into tinkering you may also be able to rig up a SSD drive and run a full windows 7 or 8 version.
I've started to see these go for $16 USD with bids starting as low as $1 on E-bay.
If your thinking about one these make sure you get one with at least 1 gig ram and 1 gig flash.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: HP Thin clients
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2014, 02:57:43 pm »

I've been looking more inside my old thin client since it stopped working.
I've also been watching Ebay for a deal on another(maybe newer model).
There seems to be a lot of adaptor cards and even USB to sata cables that should allow one to easily install a SSD or regular hard drive.
I found a USB2 to SATA adaptor cable for under $5 USD

The issue is the space inside, however there are expansion modules which clip to the side allowing extra space for cards and drives.
If these can be pick up cheap they may be a way to go.
I've seen them go for $10 TO $200 USD depending on the Thin Client ??? ::) :`)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: HP Thin clients
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2014, 03:42:50 pm »

I really miss my thin client  :(
I have noticed a win 7 image for the thin clients but a 4 gig flash drive is needed  for one version and a 16 gig for another.
I assume if I find a windows 8 image it will require the same.
the t5740 is capable of 4 megs of memory and has ability to install a 16 gig flash.
this has a SATA plug on the mother board so with adaptor cables you could most likely add a SSD (at least with the expansion case you could)
 
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Brian H

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 131
Re: HP Thin clients
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2014, 02:30:35 am »

I saw a article on the web about Windows 8.1.
Microsoft is dropping Security Updates for 8.1 on May 13,2014 and will only support Windows 8.1 with the Windows 8.1 Service Pack 1 installed.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: HP Thin clients
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2014, 03:10:40 am »

I've also read where Microsoft wants everyone to be running 8.1. Dropping support for the others may make it so.
It is easier to support only one OS. ::) :`)
« Last Edit: April 16, 2014, 04:44:39 am by Tuicemen »
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: HP Thin clients
« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2014, 01:11:43 pm »

Today I received a donated t5740. It has 3 gigs of memory (thanks for that ;) )
Opening this up I see there is more room inside.
There is a SATA connection though A SSD drive wouldn't fit  ( I assume this would be for the optional 16 gig flash drive.)
I ordered a couple of cables off Ebay that may allow me to connect to this and install a SSD in the expansion case.
Yes this came with a Expansion case `:)
This has windows XP embedded in it so I'm going to wait to see if I can connect a drive before I start installing much.
However I did install AHP.
Hooking this up to my kilowatt meter shows this uses less amps and watts then my Asus Eee Box.
However it has no hard drive or fan ( I disconnected the fan in the expansion case as there is nothing in it yet)
This may be the unit that gets installed off grid, if power consumption stays lower and I can get windows 7 or 8 to install.  ;>
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: HP Thin clients
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2014, 02:25:41 pm »

With the ability now to install a registered version of AHP I started looking into this a bit more.
Using the cables I ordered from Ebay, I was able to connect to the SATA connection. `:)
With some interior modifications I was able to mount my SDD drive on the side of the case that the expansion case attaches. installing the expansion case cleans up the look nicely but makes for a bulkier unit.

This allowed me to install Windows 7 32 bit, It would also allow Windows 8.1 but I went with 7 for now. I had to leave the flash drive in as the bios wouldn't allow me to only use the SDD drive as a boot drive. :( this slows the boot up a bit but it is something I can live with. ;>
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: HP Thin clients
« Reply #7 on: December 05, 2014, 01:09:33 pm »

I had thought the drive was a SSD but it now appears that was not the case.
I placed a USB Wi-Fi adaptor in one of the interior ports along with the USB flash stick I had in the old thin Client.
This unit is a bit bigger then my EeeBox but it appears it may use less power even without a SSD drive.
This unit has double the USB  ports but no card reader.
The expansion case should allow me to add even more ports and or a memory card reader.
Provided the hard drive doesn't get in the way.
I'll post some pics shortly showing how I added the hard drive to the Sata connector.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: HP Thin clients
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2015, 12:15:06 pm »

Sorry for the long delay in posting this.
But better late then not.
Tools required:
1: Small Philips screw driver (non magnetic)
2: Drumel tool with cutting wheel
3: One nylon tie strap Maybe 2 depending on length
4: One felt tip pen to mark cutout location
5: A Thin Client with a SATA port though the expansion case may be adapted to handle a SATA card possibly
6: A expansion module(case) for your particular model Thin client (they are not one size fits all)

First your going to need to make sure you have a SATA connection though there are mods on the net you can do to the flash for this.
Here is a pic of the SATA ports location on my thin client:

Once you have located the location you can mark the location on the metal plate that was covering this. Use a drumel tool to cut out an opening large enough to slide the SATA cable end threw.
(don't do this with the metal panel attached)
Once the hole is cut place the metal cover back checking the location and making sure the cable end with fit threw easily:

Next you'll need the expansion module for your Thin Client (there are lots on Ebay)
Get a SSD drive or a small 2 1/2 SATA drive although there is most likely room for a full size drive.
I fastened the drive with a nylon quick tie to the expansion case. you may wish to play with the exact location if you wish to use the expansion case for any other devices.
Next connect the cables. I left the expansion card in place for easier alignment when assembling.

Next slowly slid the expansion case into place making sure not to pinch any cables if you left the card in tact press down on the expansion case to fully seat it and fasten the screws.
replace the outer covers and your done.
 ;>
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Brian H

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 131
Re: HP Thin clients
« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2015, 02:56:19 am »

Thank you for the update.
Project looks more interesting now.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: HP Thin clients
« Reply #10 on: March 27, 2015, 07:12:23 am »

Yes I had hoped to get the photos up earlier but had the thin client in action and needed to tear it down to get the pics.
In stalling a full OS requires a portable DVD Player but one may be able to modify the expansion case to handle one.
This may be the next thing I look into.
I installed a 32 bit windows 7 on mine which I then updated to Windows 10 32 bit.
A 64 bit OS will not run on the processor this has but so far it handles my Home Automation needs at my off grid place nicely.
I have it hooked to my 52 inch LCD TV and run AHP, PCC and Ultralight (a web server ) on it though only Ultralight is running 24/7.
I also have it hooked to my wireless router(though it has Wi-Fi) so I can stream movies and such for those rainy days. I'll see about getting a Pic posted of it setup.
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!
Pages: [1]