Tuicemen.com

Advanced search  

News:

Alex10  (Build 1.5.3.2 ) is now  available for download ~:0~

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Asus Eee Box B202  (Read 4155 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2934
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Asus Eee Box B202
« on: April 01, 2014, 12:46:58 pm »

With XP support set to stop and new adds to PCC (Kinects) requiring Windows 7 as a minimum I realized my HP Thin Client needed a replacement.
Searching E-bay I looked for a low power PC something upgradable to win7.
Many options were way out of my budget Including the Asus Eee Box
However I found one that seemed to good a deal not to place a bid on and was shocked to win. `:) ~:0~
This comes with a 80 gig hd and 1 gig of memory both of which are upgradeable.
Having a old laptop laying around the memory upgrade was easy once I figured out how to open the case. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jvwuUdrnH60.

I plan to replace the HD with a SSD of comparable size If I can find one cheep enough. :0~
That should make it faster and quieter.
Although this does have a fan (on the CPU) it is relatively silent. However I'm thinking about adding a larger heat sink removing the fan which will reduce power consumption.
This unit will eventually be setup at my off grid place and serve a multi function roll of Home Automation and web media streamer running Windows 7. ;>
« Last Edit: April 22, 2014, 11:07:03 am by Tuicemen »
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Want to know what is in the works?
Thats the place to Look!

Tolvstad

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Asus Eee Box B202
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2014, 09:35:19 am »

I have used Crucial in the past and in fact am installing a Crucial SSD on my wifes computer as I type.  Takes a little over an hour for the imaging, so time to check the net out! It is amazing how easy and fast it is.  I have the transfer kit they offer yet from when I upgraded my laptop to SSD.  I am excited for the new addition to your system!!
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2934
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Asus Eee Box B202
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2014, 02:44:24 pm »

I've been looking at different drives.
Even thought of getting one from e-bay but prices there aren't much cheaper. (cB)
I powered this up running XP Pro plugged into a kilowatt meter
On booting it used .15 to.28 amps  15 to 22 watts
On idle .24 amps 16 watts
A SSD should bring those numbers down even more.

Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Want to know what is in the works?
Thats the place to Look!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2934
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Asus Eee Box B202
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2014, 07:29:37 am »

I managed to snag a cheap SSD drive.
It is larger then I had planed on getting  but 80 gig drives weren't any cheaper then this 120.
Installing was minutes installing the OS and updates was much longer (CZB)
I've installed Win7 Home Premium 32 bit on it and just finished all the windows updates.
Besides now having a supported OS this tinny machine is fast and uses even less power
13-14 watts and .22 amps idle.  `:)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Want to know what is in the works?
Thats the place to Look!

Tolvstad

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Asus Eee Box B202
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2014, 08:47:26 pm »

Sounds like a sweet unit!!  Does 32 bit work better than 64?  Does PCC work well with win 7?  I have been thinking of upgrading from XP.  Without support I suppose I will have to do it sometime, might as well be now if it works well with PCC......
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2934
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Asus Eee Box B202
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2014, 03:47:37 am »

I started development of PCC on windows 7 as soon as it was in RC build
PCC is designed more for 7 and 8 as some options won't work with earlier windows.
64 bit is better however some of these low power PCs can only run 1-2 gigs of memory
32 bit Windows can only use 3.5 gigs.

I Plan to start installing PCC and maybe AHP on this today.
The Bios was the original and was 8 versions behind I've now updated that so it will now restart after a power outage.

Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Want to know what is in the works?
Thats the place to Look!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2934
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Asus Eee Box B202
« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2014, 06:31:53 am »

I had a bit of a issue installing windows 7 sp1 this caused me to start over and I may move to windows 8.1 before everything is done with this.
However noticing Authinx had found  a old full installer of AHP I decided to load it on here first and may try to get a tool created to update it instead of using the Marmitec version :`)
In the mean time I found a good article on how to optimize a SSD this has many tips the end user can perform to enhance the drives performance.
I suspect several will also improve power consumption as you turn some things off not on.
Once I have them done all post my results.
Others running a SSD may also find this link handy even, if your not using a mini low power PC.
 http://www.thessdreview.com/ssd-guides/optimization-guides/the-ssd-optimization-guide-ultimate-windows-8-edition/
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Want to know what is in the works?
Thats the place to Look!

Tolvstad

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Asus Eee Box B202
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2014, 07:38:49 pm »

Thanks for the link :0~  There is a lot of stuff there I wasn't aware of.  I am anxious to see how it improves my system!! (NTr)
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2934
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Asus Eee Box B202
« Reply #8 on: April 10, 2014, 03:15:27 am »

No problem, I haven't notice any improvements in power consumption with the tweaks (to minor to see), but wow cold boots, reboot and power downs are blazing fast.
I even think I.E. loads faster now ??? ::) :`)
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Want to know what is in the works?
Thats the place to Look!

Tolvstad

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Asus Eee Box B202
« Reply #9 on: April 13, 2014, 05:28:25 pm »

For me it  seems anything I do has a noticeable speed improvement.  :)`

I am thinking about getting a desktop to put PCC on.  I am running into issues with my XP   ??? and after hearing that it runs better on 7 I am thinking of upgrading.   :-\  Any suggestions on what type of unit to get?  I would like to get something with enough memory to set up a DVR type program so I can record a few shows.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2934
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Asus Eee Box B202
« Reply #10 on: April 14, 2014, 09:21:00 am »

For me it  seems anything I do has a noticeable speed improvement.  :)`

I am thinking about getting a desktop to put PCC on.  I am running into issues with my XP   ??? and after hearing that it runs better on 7 I am thinking of upgrading.   :-\  Any suggestions on what type of unit to get?  I would like to get something with enough memory to set up a DVR type program so I can record a few shows.
Nice to hear you also see an improvement.
PCC does indeed run better with windows 7 and even better with 8.1.
This also allows the use of a Kinects which won't work with a OS older then win7.
Price  of Win 7 verses 8.1 is negligible so I'd go with 8.1 as it is faster at almost everything.
If your looking at a low power PC Compulabs makes some nice small powerfull units capable doing of what your thinking.
Many of the newer mini units are capable of 4-16 gigs memory.
I think the Asus Eee box b202 is capable of 4 but the newer units much more.

« Last Edit: April 22, 2014, 12:53:54 pm by Tuicemen »
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Want to know what is in the works?
Thats the place to Look!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2934
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Asus Eee Box B202
« Reply #11 on: April 24, 2014, 07:51:45 am »

Installed windows 8.1 32bit on this and believe it or not it uses less power :o ??? ::) :`)
Not a lot less but it is noticeable with a meter.
Maybe the fact that you can optimize a SSD better with windows 8 then 7.
Boot time however seems a bit slower this may improve once I disable things I don't wish to run.
Since this is a totally new OS I'm attempting to create a AHP full install without the use of a Marmitek preinstall. I've posted about this in the X10Zone AHP section

I also manage to get a hold of a 2 meg memory stick from a dying Laptop and attempted to install it.
originally I didn't think it would work as the display was all messed up then just a black screen. Taking it out and rebooting brought the display back to normal.
I then though maybe the larger capacity module may need to be in the first slot. ??? ::)
That appears to be the case as windows is now reporting it is running 3 megs.  `:)
 :0~
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Want to know what is in the works?
Thats the place to Look!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2934
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Asus Eee Box B202
« Reply #12 on: October 23, 2015, 09:17:33 am »

I've updated this to Win10 32 bit and it seems to be faster.
Currently I don't use this for much other then handling my weather station info.
Interestingly I have a HP thin client with the same specs (CPU, Memory, and HD) which seems to be quicker, at least it streams better.
I suspect the HP has a better video card.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Want to know what is in the works?
Thats the place to Look!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2934
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Asus Eee Box B202
« Reply #13 on: December 22, 2016, 01:43:10 pm »

I started to play with an Amazon Dot and controlling X10 with Alexa.
I created a small program simular to the ahcmd.exe found in the AHP SDK however I gave it a user interface and abilities to create custom batch files.
I dug out my Cm19 and now this is handling my x10 HA via Alexa voice commands. ~:0~
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Want to know what is in the works?
Thats the place to Look!
Pages: [1]