Tuicemen.com

Advanced search  

News:

Alex10  (Build 1.5.3.2 ) is now  available for download ~:0~

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Are/Will You use a kinect with PCC  (Read 3294 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2934
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Are/Will You use a kinect with PCC
« on: October 02, 2013, 05:20:07 am »

As I play with my Kinect sensor I see lots of areas for implementation.
In order to get the most for VR from the Kinects it will require a rewrite of the VR code.
This will take some time but is something I plan to do.
There are some other aspects I'll look into like motion sensing and face recognition.
I 'm wondering how many users will actually benefit from this? ???
« Last Edit: October 10, 2013, 12:32:37 pm by Tuicemen »
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Want to know what is in the works?
Thats the place to Look!

KENRAD

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Re: Are/Will You use a kinect with PCC
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2013, 11:39:19 am »

I will be definitely using kinects with PCC I am currently doing it now for a microphone, but I am really hoping to see more and more the kinect integrated in to PCC the possibliities of home automation self awareness are amazing with what can be done with Kinect integration

 (Chr)  Ken 
Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2934
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Are/Will You use a kinect with PCC
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2013, 01:34:02 pm »

Ok I have to ask!
Some have answered it depends what it will do.
What are you looking for it to do?
Is there something specific you'd like PCC to do with a Kinects? ??? ::) :`)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Want to know what is in the works?
Thats the place to Look!

KENRAD

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Re: Are/Will You use a kinect with PCC
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2013, 02:13:36 pm »

Hey T,
I am looking for PCC to be able to use it for VR with the inproved recognition that the kinect can offer and also zone based triggers similar to what I have been doing with the nitrogen stuff.  I also have heard cool stuff on gesture control but I'm not sure what the kinect is capable of

 (Chr)  Ken
Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2934
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Are/Will You use a kinect with PCC
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2013, 03:07:00 pm »

Hey T,
I am looking for PCC to be able to use it for VR with the inproved recognition that the kinect can offer and also zone based triggers similar to what I have been doing with the nitrogen stuff.  I also have heard cool stuff on gesture control but I'm not sure what the kinect is capable of

 (Chr)  Ken
I've looked into gesture control with the SDK however I don't see the possibilities with PCC.
I had thought diming and brightening maybe possible ??? ::) :`)
I do see some issues with that though, other then that I haven't any ideas
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Want to know what is in the works?
Thats the place to Look!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2934
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Are/Will You use a kinect with PCC
« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2013, 07:51:10 am »

For those thinking of implementing a Kinects into your HA setups it is important to note it will not work with XP.
I believe you need minimum windows 7 this makes sense as support for XP is set to stop Aug 2014.
I've tested with Win 7, 8 and 8.1 and it seems to work about the same in all though I suspect newer builds will work better with 8.1 and offer more options.
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Want to know what is in the works?
Thats the place to Look!

Hawk1

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Helpful Rating: 3
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 77
Re: Are/Will You use a kinect with PCC
« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2013, 06:02:19 am »

Will any Kinect work?  Or which one should I get?  Christmas is coming, maybe I'll get one.  I'm running iHouse, PCC, BI.  Just asking because I see several different ones.  And does anyone know where to pick up a cheap one?  thanks

 (CZB)
Logged
"I don't know what I'm doing but, I'm having fun doing it!"
Windows Xp Home
Ihouse, BVC, PCC, Blue Iris
Cm15A Transceiver
V572 Receiver
XTB Amplifier
XTB-IIR Coupler, Amplifier, Repeater

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2934
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Are/Will You use a kinect with PCC
« Reply #7 on: December 15, 2013, 06:17:54 am »

Any Kinects should work however a Xbox one requires you to install the Kinects SDK.
I've read the new Xbox one Kinects will not connect to a PC
And does anyone know where to pick up a cheap one?  

http://tuicemen.com/forum/index.php?topic=659.0
« Last Edit: December 15, 2013, 06:19:46 am by Tuicemen »
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Want to know what is in the works?
Thats the place to Look!

Hawk1

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Helpful Rating: 3
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 77
Re: Are/Will You use a kinect with PCC
« Reply #8 on: December 15, 2013, 06:38:18 am »

Thanks Tuicemen.  I've been away too long, forgetting how to search I guess.

 (CZB)
Logged
"I don't know what I'm doing but, I'm having fun doing it!"
Windows Xp Home
Ihouse, BVC, PCC, Blue Iris
Cm15A Transceiver
V572 Receiver
XTB Amplifier
XTB-IIR Coupler, Amplifier, Repeater

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2934
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Are/Will You use a kinect with PCC
« Reply #9 on: December 15, 2013, 08:53:20 am »

The older I get the less I remember, I think that's it!  ::)  :`) (RoFL)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Want to know what is in the works?
Thats the place to Look!

dave w

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Are/Will You use a kinect with PCC
« Reply #10 on: December 15, 2013, 10:16:35 am »

The older I get the less I remember, I think that's it!  ::)  :`) (RoFL)
I have O.G.S. Is possible you may also.

(Old Geezer Syndrome)  ;)
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2934
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Are/Will You use a kinect with PCC
« Reply #11 on: January 08, 2014, 01:05:49 pm »

I have O.G.S. Is possible you may also.

(Old Geezer Syndrome)  ;)
I'm very sure that's what I have  (RoFL)

I've been fighting with getting the streaming video info from the sensor for some time now.   (DH)
I had added tilt control to 4.0.4.6 but without being able to view what the sensor was seeing you have to guess at the proper angle for good voice recognition.

Today I finally was able to get code that worked in PCC. `:) ~:0~
This opens up the whole array of possibilities the Kinect sensor adds. :)`
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Want to know what is in the works?
Thats the place to Look!

Hawk1

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Helpful Rating: 3
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 77
Re: Are/Will You use a kinect with PCC
« Reply #12 on: January 08, 2014, 01:35:01 pm »

You are the man!   (GJ)  :0~   :)`


 (CZB)
Logged
"I don't know what I'm doing but, I'm having fun doing it!"
Windows Xp Home
Ihouse, BVC, PCC, Blue Iris
Cm15A Transceiver
V572 Receiver
XTB Amplifier
XTB-IIR Coupler, Amplifier, Repeater
Pages: [1]