Tuicemen.com

Advanced search  

News:

Share your Automated House and Ideas in the Members Section! :0~

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Phillips Hue  (Read 4215 times)

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Phillips Hue
« on: August 03, 2013, 09:17:03 pm »

Hey T,

I love the MiLights stuff but recently ordered a started kit for phillips hue, from the review I've seen they are far more superior to the MiLights.  I am going to try and interface them with the kinect controllers as it is in the firm ware but it could do so much more if PCC could control them as well  :`) 

I know that they are a little more pricey than Milights but it looks like there is much more functionality that can be done with them.  There is a API for them as well as it appears that they are also using IFTTT to interface as well. 

I'd be interested on hearing your thoughts on this

 (Chr)  Ken
Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Phillips Hue
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2013, 04:02:22 am »

I had originally looked at adding support for the Philips hue bulbs.
However after comparing the two I decided to go with the Milights (Easybulbs).
There were a number of reasons for that choice price was one.
The different styles Milight has to offer or that are in there release plans was another.
Ease of programing and warrantee another.

I'm not sure the Philips hue are superior but the inability to compare both first hand makes it hard to tell.

There are a number of other Wi-Fi or Bluetooth bulbs out there all are very new.
Each may do something the others don't but I believe you can or will be able to do the same things with them in time.

With the addition of the option to send a web command you may be able to send commands to the Philips Hue from a usercommand.(not sure if this is in the current build as I have a beta test build running here at the cottage.)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Re: Phillips Hue
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2013, 05:56:24 pm »

Hey T,

Just an update on the phillips hue stuff.  I have them installed with the kinects and I find them far easier to set up then the milights.  Also the lighting from them is brighter.  I would really hope that PCC can support these. 
I do have one question with the rgb easy bulbs.  As far as I can tell all four bulbs change color and turn on and off together am I correct on this or is there a way to separate the bulbs that I am missing.   

 (Chr)  Ken

Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Phillips Hue
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2013, 06:53:24 am »

I do have one question with the rgb easy bulbs.  As far as I can tell all four bulbs change color and turn on and off together am I correct on this or is there a way to separate the bulbs that I am missing.   

 (Chr)  Ken


Currently that is the way they work.
EasyBulb had stated that this will change with the next software update.
Once that is available or they release an API(SDK) I'll add the code to PCC to enable separation.
Since these are rather new, very few manufactures have code released to control so the code needs to be captured with Wirefire.
I'll look over the Philips Hue API again and see if it sends the info the same way as Easy Bulb.
If so it will be an easy thing to add I just won't be able to debug it with out a set.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Re: Phillips Hue
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2013, 03:13:20 pm »

hey, T

I would really appreciate if you could look at adding the Hue stuff to PCC.  I will be more than happy to test the software for it .
you have been watching any of the Hue stuff they have recently released 2 new style the bulbs as well

cheers ken
Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Re: Phillips Hue
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2013, 09:00:15 pm »

Hey T, I got phillips hue working with PCC but it is a little clumsy.  PCccan control phillips hue but using the POST to a web feature in the usercreated commands but it would be much nicer if PCC could do it directly  ;>   ;> 

Just saying  :`) 

 (Chr)  Ken 
Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Phillips Hue
« Reply #6 on: August 16, 2013, 03:50:44 am »

Hey T, I got phillips hue working with PCC but it is a little clumsy.  PCccan control phillips hue but using the POST to a web feature in the usercreated commands but it would be much nicer if PCC could do it directly  ;>   ;> 

Just saying  :`) 

 (Chr)  Ken 
That is good news. `:)
I've added that to my list of to do's, which never seems to get any smaller (RoFL)
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

dave w

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Phillips Hue
« Reply #7 on: August 16, 2013, 05:04:11 am »

Hey!

This thread is very interesting. One would think, as these wifi/blueteeth bulbs begin to catch on, the manufacturers would have to standardize on common protocols. $0.02
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Phillips Hue
« Reply #8 on: August 16, 2013, 06:20:26 am »

Hey!

This thread is very interesting. One would think, as these wifi/blueteeth bulbs begin to catch on, the manufacturers would have to standardize on common protocols. $0.02
Common protocols would simplify things when coding for these bulbs.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Re: Phillips Hue
« Reply #9 on: August 16, 2013, 09:58:39 am »

Hey T, I got phillips hue working with PCC but it is a little clumsy.  PCccan control phillips hue but using the POST to a web feature in the usercreated commands but it would be much nicer if PCC could do it directly  ;>   ;> 

Just saying  :`) 

 (Chr)  Ken 
That is good news. `:)
I've added that to my list of to do's, which never seems to get any smaller (RoFL)
 (Chr)

Hey T,

Thank you for adding phillips hue to the to do list  ~:0~

I also agree that standard protocols would be nice but I don't see it happening any time soon  :`)

 (Chr)  Ken
Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi

dave w

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Phillips Hue
« Reply #10 on: August 16, 2013, 01:40:10 pm »

I also agree that standard protocols would be nice but I don't see it happening any time soon  :`)
Yup, I agree. But  there may be some covergence after next years CES show. Also (FWIW) after looking at Easybulb and Hue sites, I think Phillips Hue will be the 800 pound gorilla if there is a protocol war.
Logged

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Re: Phillips Hue
« Reply #11 on: August 16, 2013, 03:37:08 pm »

I also agree that standard protocols would be nice but I don't see it happening any time soon  :`)
Yup, I agree. But  there may be some covergence after next years CES show. Also (FWIW) after looking at Easybulb and Hue sites, I think Phillips Hue will be the 800 pound gorilla if there is a protocol war.

I think so too, and I have both of them currently running and I find that the phillips hue offers far more adjustments and brightness levels over the easybulbs.  As well as the ability to control 50 bulbs with one controller and select individual colors for each bulb.  Also Phillips hue has just released 2 new bulb types, they now offer a flood light design that I believe is battery operated and a rope light as well.  They also have the function to talk directly to phillips smart tv's and are incorporated with functions form popular sites such as gmail, and face book ,throught IFTTT 

 (Chr)  Ken
Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Re: Phillips Hue
« Reply #12 on: December 13, 2013, 02:27:04 pm »

Seeing that PCC is back in the improvement stage I thought I would revisit this to see if PCC wants to play with phillips hue  :`)


 (Chr)  Ken
Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Phillips Hue
« Reply #13 on: December 13, 2013, 04:18:32 pm »

I've had a chance to look at the available APIs for this but nothing is for VB.net
I might be able to convert to VB but there are some things that just don't convert well.
I think my time is best spent on other additions at this time.
I haven't totally given up on this just placing it to the back burner for now.
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Re: Phillips Hue
« Reply #14 on: February 13, 2016, 06:51:40 pm »

Hey, T

any thoughts on phillips hue  :`)
Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi
Pages: [1] 2