Tuicemen.com

Advanced search  

News:

Share your Automated House and Ideas in the Members Section! :0~

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: X10 Camera View on Android  (Read 1613 times)

soxfan1966

  • PCC Tester
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 67
X10 Camera View on Android
« on: April 08, 2013, 05:18:32 pm »

Another new question...

Currently, I am running X10 ActiveHome Pro and have both Microsoft Remote Desktop and VNC running on that computer as well (which happens to be a ThinClient, but thats another story)...

I also have the ActivePhone Pro plug in with it installed on my Android Phone.

What I am looking for now is a solution to be able to view my X10 cameras on my Android phone, tablet and/or desktop computer.

What I am currently using is Yawcam - which works OK but uses Java.  Java seems to be resource intensive so I am wondering what other alternatives there may be out there...

I know X10 has a plugin called iWatchMobile Pro - is that a viable solution?

Thoughts???
Logged

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Re: X10 Camera View on Android
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2013, 05:38:42 pm »

I wasn't a big fan of it because it relied on their server which wasn't real reliable I use Blue IRIS for my cams but I went to IP cams and not x10 but I thought there were users viewing x10 cams with it aas well

 (Chr)  Ken
Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi

soxfan1966

  • PCC Tester
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 67
Re: X10 Camera View on Android
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2013, 06:12:13 am »

I gave Blue Iris a quick try and it seems to have the same resource intensive issues that Yawcam does.  On top of that, Blue Iris is only a free trial (Yawcam is free).

In regards to your other comment about the x10 servers being an issue, I think you can circumvent that by using your own site name (I got mine from www.no-ip.org) and then using the port forward of your router to send the proper port to the computer you have running AHP.

So rather than go thru the AHP servers, you go to your site name like this...

http://sitename.no-ip.org:8777/ahppro

for ActivePhone Pro.  I think the same thing would work for iWatchMobile Pro (change ahppro to iwatchpro)

For my ThinClient approach, I am trying to limit things I need running as much as possible...
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3142
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: X10 Camera View on Android
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2013, 06:47:59 am »

I don't think the X10 Software allows you to use your own server. ::) :`)
I know the AHP myhouse plug-in doesn't.
I think the old x10xray vision (cam) software may have.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

soxfan1966

  • PCC Tester
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 67
Re: X10 Camera View on Android
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2013, 10:15:31 am »

I run the ActivePhone Pro by just going straight to the IP address of my computer as noted above.  I think the MyHouse plug in is different as it has lots more stuff.  If someone has the ActivePhone Pro plugin I would be interested if they can get it to work by:

http://sitename.no-ip.org:8777/ahppro

or

192.168.1.1:8777/ahppro

where 192.168.1.1 is the IP address of your modem....
Logged
Pages: [1]