Tuicemen.com

Advanced search  

News:

Share your Automated House and Ideas in the Members Section! :0~

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Modem for PCC and landline with windows 7  (Read 1816 times)

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Modem for PCC and landline with windows 7
« on: December 19, 2012, 03:37:14 pm »

I finally got a USB modem to work reliably with PCC for landline phone  ~:0~


The modem is found at the link below.  I need to give credit to ITGUY for helping with this one  (GJ)

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005GQMX4O

It was a really easy setup I installed the modem in the USB port and then stopped windows update from searching for the driver automatically. this is very important because the windows 7 drivers don't support voice !!!!!

Install the disk that comes with the modem and load the drivers from it.  AGAIN BE SURE THAT THE WINDOWS 7 DRIVERS ARE NOT LOADED BECAUSE OTHERWISE IT WILL DEFAULT TO THOSE DRIVERS WHEN THE MACHINE IS REBOOTED.

Restart PCC and your good to go.  I hope this helps other users because I know this has been a difficult topic for sometime now. 

 (Chr) Ken
Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3151
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Modem for PCC and landline with windows 7
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2012, 04:50:10 pm »

Thanks for posting the link.
Perhaps you can explain how to disable windows from Up dating the driver as well while it is still fresh in your mind.
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Re: Modem for PCC and landline with windows 7
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2012, 06:46:46 pm »

Thanks for posting the link.
Perhaps you can explain how to disable windows from Up dating the driver as well while it is still fresh in your mind.
 (Chr)

To stop windows from finding the driver go to control panel and disable automatic updates prior to installing the modem.  That way you can load the drivers from the disk supplied with the modem.  

 (Chr)  Ken


Edited by tuicemen to add pic per request
« Last Edit: December 20, 2012, 01:54:21 pm by Tuicemen »
Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3151
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Modem for PCC and landline with windows 7
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2014, 10:22:24 am »

Just to update this.
Windows updates are important how ever performing this will install new window drivers for this which you do not want.
here's how to run a windows update that doesn't update hardware drivers as well.

1.Click Start, right-click Computer, and then click Properties.

2.In the Tasks list, click Advanced System Settings.

3.On the System Properties dialog box, click the Hardware tab, and then click Device Installation Settings.

4.Select Never install driver software from windows update.

5.Click OK twice, and then close the System dialog box.


You can now run windows update without your driver being over written.
 (Chr)

Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!
Pages: [1]