Tuicemen.com

Advanced search  

News:

Alex10  (Build 1.5.3.5 ) is now  available for download ~:0~

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Is it possible to get any program to relay info?  (Read 1822 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3144
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Is it possible to get any program to relay info?
« on: January 03, 2011, 06:48:58 am »

Maybe!
The easiest way is to contact the author of said software and request they add the client code.
There is no charge for this.
Well the Author that adds the client code may up the cost of their software. ::)
They simply need to ask for the client code which they may modify to their liking.

I don't plan to add any other way to get info to X10Relayer but usualy if someone tries hard enought they find away. (RoFL)
For years I tried to get my software to interact with other programs while the other programmers did nothing to make it easy. >:(
This is my last attempt to do so! (DH)

Now If you find a program that you would like to add to your network but the author refuses to add code then let me know.
There is lots of open source code out there that maybe I can throw something together that is simular if there is a big enough demand for it.
Now if it simply creates a text file that you wish read over the network I can easily create a app that will fire off that info!
 (Chr)
« Last Edit: January 31, 2011, 06:12:16 am by Tuicemen »
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

ITguy

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Helpful Rating: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 56
Re: Is it possible to get any program to relay info?
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2011, 07:53:48 am »

Hi Tuice!

Would you be willing to post some "basic concepts and methods" info about x10Relayer? Specifically, I'm wondering if relayer uses a "listener" or if it's "polling". 

I know you've experimented with iHouse, and I'm wondering if adding relayer support to iHouse wouldn't increase its capabilities.

ITguy 
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3144
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Is it possible to get any program to relay info?
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2011, 09:35:42 am »

X10Relayer is a simple UDP server!
It sees any client connected to the home network on the same port!
It even sees those that don't transmit the security ID it just won't relay the info passed to it!
Basicaly it only relays text info but is capable of more.
As it sits now it is basicaly a Chat Server.
Clients need to be coded to read the text and figure out if it is a command or a simple info text.
Any Program can use it even iHouse.
It would allow any info from other programs transmitting data to be incorporated.
For example AlertDialers callerID info could be forwarded to ihouse.
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

ITguy

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Helpful Rating: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 56
Re: Is it possible to get any program to relay info?
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2011, 02:50:05 pm »

Thanks!  I'm not sure when TJ will ever have time to work on it again, but I'm going to put it on the wishlist.

ITguy
Logged
Pages: [1]