Tuicemen.com

Advanced search  

News:

Share your Automated House and Ideas in the Members Section! :0~

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: looking for a work around for Ihouse weather  (Read 1977 times)

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
looking for a work around for Ihouse weather
« on: November 09, 2011, 06:56:59 am »

Hey T,

I was thinking about creating a macro that will allow me to ask Ihouse "how is it outside"  and then use command line arguments to pull the weather from pcc.  but I cant seem to get it to work  I pointed ihouse at the pcc.exe and in the arguments I set it up as <weather?>  what am I missing

Thanks Kenrad (Chr)
Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3151
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: looking for a work around for Ihouse weather
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2011, 12:57:13 pm »

V9.6.4 has a new weather format so the work arround may not be needed.
Since I haven't used ihouse for running other programs maybe iTguy can chime  in as he has triggered PCC commands from iHouse.
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3151
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: looking for a work around for Ihouse weather
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2011, 05:33:16 am »

One thing I noticed in your OP
You stated your using >weather?< as the command.
All windows commands are case sensitive.
The command should be >Weather?< or [Weather?]
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Re: looking for a work around for Ihouse weather
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2011, 06:28:00 am »

Thanks T

That is correct I missed it I'll make sure to check that out  :`)

Kenrad
Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3151
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: looking for a work around for Ihouse weather
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2011, 07:57:38 am »

Seems the new weather format of iHouse isn't able to do a voice weather annoucement .
So this work arround maybe needed until I have a look at the new code.
I may play with a simular format for PCC but only if I can get the voice annoucement to work.
It has advisorys and alerts which the current method doesn't.
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

ITguy

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 57
Re: looking for a work around for Ihouse weather
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2011, 04:54:27 pm »

So here's some samples of what I found to work with iHouse and one example of what doesn't:

I have pcc installed in D:\pccompanion, so you'd need to change that to point at your actual pcc folder.

From within an iHouse macro:

Shell, "D:\pccompanion\pccompanion.exe >Weather?< 0", NormalFocus,DontWait
works

Shell, "D:\pccompanion\pccompanion.exe test_test 0", NormalFocus,DontWait
works (PCC speaks "test test")

Shell, D:\pccompanion\test1.bat, NormalFocus,DontWait
works (runs the batch file and PCC does whatever is in the batch file)

From a batch file:
D:\pccompanion\pccompanion.exe [Time?] 0
works (PCC gives the time)

batch file
D:\pccompanion\pccompanion.exe >Time?< 0
doesn't work - notice the >< here instead of the brackets!  From within a batch file, you MUST use the brackets instead!

Hope that helps.

ITguy
Logged

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Re: looking for a work around for Ihouse weather
« Reply #6 on: November 21, 2011, 07:25:50 pm »

Seems the new weather format of iHouse isn't able to do a voice weather annoucement .
So this work arround maybe needed until I have a look at the new code.
I may play with a simular format for PCC but only if I can get the voice annoucement to work.
It has advisorys and alerts which the current method doesn't.
 (Chr)

I do like the addition of advisorys and alerts but I still would like the audible voice anouncement in addition to the weather screen.  I will play around with ITguys ideas and see what I come up with until the new version is out and even after if it doesn't support voice.

Thanks for your help guys

Kenrad
Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi
Pages: [1]