Tuicemen.com

Advanced search  

News:

Alex10  (Build 1.5.3.5 ) is now  available for download ~:0~

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Ihouse voice for android  (Read 3225 times)

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Ihouse voice for android
« on: October 12, 2011, 06:14:15 pm »

Tuicemen posted this on the bvc forums:

Quote
I think I found a usable app that may work with BVC creating a remote BVC (kinda of)!
It turns your android device into a pc soundcard.
Since I can't test this in my current location I thought I'd post it for others!
Currently there are no videos but it sounds promising fo $2
http://androidapps.com/tech/apps/799243-pocketaudio-microphone-senstic
I started testing it with my ihouse app and it works great.  the only down fall that I see is on the android device it sucks alot of battery.  I have used it with my htc evo and my tablet as well and It works flawlessly.  this could be a great addition to vr for home automation.  

Once again thanks T for the good find.

 (Chr)Kenrad

edited by tuicemen to fix quote and link (readability)
« Last Edit: October 13, 2011, 04:07:37 am by Tuicemen »
Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Ihouse voice for android
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2011, 04:03:22 am »

Glad to hear it works. `:)
I couldn't test at the cottage but I figured it would use alot of battery power.
Does it work along with wired mic/speakers or is it either the app or wired mic/speakers?
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Re: Ihouse voice for android
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2011, 07:10:15 am »

it appears that it is either wired or the android app to get it to work I had to switch it to default in sound settings on the control panel but I have an android phone and a tablet and I installed on both and it work at the same time from both devices. I carry my phone on a belt clip and if I leave the app running the house can understand me with out removing the phone from my belt.  I still haven't tried it with xp but with Ihouse and win 7 64 bit it works perfect. 

 (Chr)kenrad
Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Ihouse voice for android
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2011, 10:01:46 am »

Awsome! Are you using the app for speakers too?
I noticed there was a separate app for just speakers is this needed?
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Re: Ihouse voice for android
« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2011, 11:35:10 am »

Ok more testing on the android mic app.  It doesnt appear the speakers work as well but I find that there is a severe lag and it makes the mic unstable.  I tried it with xp and I house as well as bvc and it functions beautifully. It also has very good range as long as there are no walls to interfere.  It will run from miltiple android devices at the same time so if someone wanted to use tablets as wall mounted touchscreen it would work awesome.  it seems to lag a little with xp but that might just be becase of the ram on the xp machine that I am running.  This is greatly expanding my use of voice control in my setup.  also with the speakers it is the same as with the mics its either wire or through the android app not both.

Hey T, is there any chance of adding usbuirt coding to Ihouse :`) Not that your not busy enough but I though id try. 

 (Chr)kenrad
Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Re: Ihouse voice for android
« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2011, 11:41:45 am »

one other thing that I forgot to add with the mic app for android.  it allows anyone in my home to communicate with ihouse instead of just me it appears that it has cleared up some of the issues with windows voice recognition.  I know that several users have talked about this in other posts.

 (Chr)kenrad
Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Ihouse voice for android
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2011, 11:48:24 am »

Hey T, is there any chance of adding usbuirt coding to Ihouse :`) Not that your not busy enough but I though id try. 
There is always the chance!  ::) :`)
However the chances are better that someone else creates a user control to add to iHouse.
Since iHouse isn't my baby I tend to get looking at it after my projects are done.
one other thing that I forgot to add with the mic app for android.  it allows anyone in my home to communicate with ihouse instead of just me it appears that it has cleared up some of the issues with windows voice recognition.  I know that several users have talked about this in other posts.
Very Cool. Many using BVC will love to hear that!
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Re: Ihouse voice for android
« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2011, 09:24:40 am »

ok I have run into one little issue with the android mic app.  when windows 7 logs the user out it stops the microphone. Does anyone know how to stop windows from logging out.  What I mean by logging out is after a certain amount of time windows returns to the logg in screen when this happens it cancels the microphone.  the app is still running in windows because as soon as you log back in it continues to work. 

 (Chr)Kenrad
Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Re: Ihouse voice for android
« Reply #8 on: October 16, 2011, 11:46:57 am »

ok after playing around with the andriod pocket mic app more it will use both the wired mics as well as the android app at the same time.  but it wont run both the wired speakers and the android speakers at the same time

 (Chr)Kenrad
Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Ihouse voice for android
« Reply #9 on: October 23, 2011, 10:41:04 am »

ok after playing around with the andriod pocket mic app more it will use both the wired mics as well as the android app at the same time.  but it wont run both the wired speakers and the android speakers at the same time

 (Chr)Kenrad
good to know.
The issue with windows loging out is a sleep or hibernation setting it needs to be set to never.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Re: Ihouse voice for android
« Reply #10 on: October 23, 2011, 05:26:14 pm »

Thanks T,

That was the issue with the windows log out

 (Chr) KenRad
Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi
Pages: [1]