Tuicemen.com

Advanced search  

News:

Share your Automated House and Ideas in the Members Section! :0~

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Port Forwarding help!  (Read 1857 times)

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Port Forwarding help!
« on: March 18, 2011, 09:03:11 am »

no problem Tuicemen.   

I am using the bluetooth version,   

I hope you don't think in griping, I appreciate all the work you put into the home automation,  If it wasn't for guys like you the newbies in home automation like me would be lost because x10 doesn't really offer much help.

I know this isn't the forum for this but I was wondering if you could point me in the right dirrection to set up port forwarding for the mobile aps.  I have MY garage pro,my house online, active phone and iwatchmobile pro and thy are so inconsistent using the reflector server and I cant' access them from outside my own network which really makes them useless.  Any help would be greatly appreciated. 


Thanks
KENRAD  (Chr)


Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Port Forwarding help!
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2011, 10:45:23 am »

I hope you don't mind me splitting this off from the original thread?
It isn't Bluewatch related.

Port forwarding is sometimes found in the security settings for your router.
The address for most routers is: 192.168.1.1
Again not all router setup screens are the same so you'll have to Play in there.
You'll need your router defalt logon info unless you've changed that. ;>
Since I don't have any of the mobile apps I can say what the port forward setting should be
Or if you can specify it in the apps. ::) :`)
« Last Edit: March 18, 2011, 10:56:03 am by Tuicemen »
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Re: Port Forwarding help!
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2011, 04:54:45 pm »

According to what I understand I need to forward port 8777 to my ahp computer and to avoid the reflector server, this server has bee nvery unreliable through x10 I can always access the plug ins from inside my network but with out forwarding this port I am unable to connect to my AHP from out side my network using the 3g settings my router Ip is 192.168.1.1 and my computer statci Ip is 173.242.xx.xxx.  I hope this is what you need for info

Thanks for the help Tuicemen

KenRad

Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Port Forwarding help!
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2011, 05:19:52 pm »

What is your router brand and model number?
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
Re: Port Forwarding help!
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2011, 05:41:44 pm »

the router is a netgear wndr3700
Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Port Forwarding help!
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2011, 05:55:08 pm »

Get out your  routers manual.
Read the section  Blocking Access to Internet Services and the section Configuring a User-Defined Service
That should give you the info you need! ;>
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!
Pages: [1]