Tuicemen.com

Advanced search  

News:

Share your Automated House and Ideas in the Members Section! :0~

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Google Home & Alex10  (Read 101 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3196
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Google Home & Alex10
« on: November 24, 2017, 10:18:48 am »

The HA-Bridge is said to support the Google home devices and I noticed BestBuy had a Black Friday deal on the mini so I ordered one. :0~
There hasn't been much discussion on Google Home in the Home Automation scene. :(
Maybe this thread can get some discussion going  for that.
I'm interested in hearing from anyone using a Google Home assistant for automation. ;>
I'll post my findings once I've had a week to play with it.
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

soxfan1966

  • PCC Tester
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 71
Re: Google Home & Alex10
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2017, 05:17:08 am »

Interestingly, I was just wondering if Alex10 supported the Google Home as I saw it on sale as well.  I just installed Alex10 last week and got it updated / working and ordered a Echo Dot to give it a whirl.

I'm not sure what the differences between the Google Home and the Echo are and which is better suited to home automation with x10. 

So I am interested in hearing what you find out.

Would it be possible to have both an Echo and a Google Home linked into Alex10 at the same time?  Perhaps there is some benefit to having one of each?

Thanks
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3196
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Google Home & Alex10
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2017, 10:19:40 am »

Google has changed how it handles hue bulbs  >:( and since the HA-Bridge is a Hue simulator I'm not expecting to much success with Alex10. :(
However from what I've read on other forums the Google devices have a vaster knowledge base. Due to the Google search engine your less likely to get a "I Don't know that" answer when asking a question.
The Google unit is to arrive today so I'll likely have a update tomorrow.
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3196
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Google Home & Alex10
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2017, 12:11:11 pm »

Well my Google Home was a little late arriving. :(
It also appears Google Home no longer works with HA-Bridge directly. (cB)

It may still be able to control x10 devices using ifttt
It may also be possible to use it with the RM Broadlink via a Google tool and Tasker.
The skills (apps) available for the Google Home are very limited right now however I see there is one for the Homeseer hub which would give X10 control.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3196
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Google Home & Alex10
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2017, 01:50:41 pm »

Ok it looks like the route may be IFTTT and web hooks in order to get Google home working with Alex10 and the HA-Bridge.
I've just had a quick look and initial findings look promising.
However this may get a bit complicated for the average user.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3196
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Google Home & Alex10
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2017, 06:59:14 am »

Well looks like IFTTT and web hooks may not be the route to go for HA-Bridge.
Calling commands to the bridge relies on using the device ID since this can change your IFTTT applets would only work as long as the IDs didn't change. (cB)
A small sever may need to be created for Alex10 in order for the IFTTT route to work directly with Alex10
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!
Pages: [1]