Tuicemen.com

Advanced search  

News:

Share your Automated House and Ideas in the Members Section! :0~

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Broadlink RM Pro & X10  (Read 499 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3144
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Broadlink RM Pro & X10
« on: July 09, 2017, 05:32:05 am »

For those Unfamiliar with the Broadlink RM, they are a cheep universal learning hub which learns IR and RF for control with a smartphone app (eControl). You can find them on Amazon or Ebay for about $40 US just make sure to get the RM Pro

I picked up one of these devices in early 2017 after reading they planed to add support for X10 as well as some other AH protocols.
Little did I realize the possibilities were already there for X10 RF code learning.
I had used this to send learned IR signals to turn on my TV and some other IR devices via Alexa using the HA-Bridge.
Recently a user (juanka) on the X10 forum posted they were learning X10 with it.
http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=29846.0
They weren't using the same method I was to control it with Alexa however that didn't stop me from playing.
I still use the RM Bridge app with the HA-Bridge and Alex10 but now Alex10 doesn't have to send the x10 commands the Broadlink is actually doing that. Since it sends RF you still need to have a transceiver of some sort.
Both juanka and my self have uploaded X10 codes for use with econtrol so new users won't have to learn codes for all X10 devices.
Since I use the RM-Bridge I'll post X10 codes in a dedicated thread so users can import them to there RM Bridge and not need to learn all of them.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3144
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Broadlink RM Pro & X10
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2017, 04:56:54 am »

I've tested the RF range and the RF learning range is short about 3 feet max. :(
However once learned it will transmit over 35 feet maybe more. That's the limit I can test inside.
The IR learning and transmitting is multi directional, however the IR sensor in the entertainment device needs to have a clear line of sight to the Broadlink.
This will also learn X10 security codes so I can now arm/disarm my security console via voice and Alexa or my smartphone with the ecControl app.
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Brian H

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 133
Re: Broadlink RM Pro & X10
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2017, 05:21:14 am »

I wounder if it has a similar feature as Z-Wave.
Goes into a reduced sensitivities. So it can't try and learn someones else's setup.



Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3144
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Broadlink RM Pro & X10
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2017, 05:30:34 am »

I never thought of that  ???  :-[ but that would make sense.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3144
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Broadlink RM Pro & X10
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2017, 08:19:51 am »

The BroadLink has a thermometer built in which is cool.
So using the air conditioner remote you can access this in the app.
The eControl app will allow a userdefined aircon and will allow for RF code discovery too  :0~
This means you could trigger almost  any device based on temperature.  ???
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3144
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Broadlink RM Pro & X10
« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2017, 01:30:14 pm »

Just tested IR range.
This is a bit tricky as it needs to be a clear line of sight.
However I can get about 32 feet
If I was to open the door and hold the BroadLink just right I might get 35 feet. (RoFL)
I don't suspect many users would need even close to that range. ???
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!
Pages: [1]