Tuicemen.com

Advanced search  

News:

Alex10  (Build 1.5.3.5 ) is now  available for download ~:0~

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Alexa Hates Alex  (Read 685 times)

mldenison

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Alexa Hates Alex
« on: May 16, 2017, 03:28:01 pm »

I thought I'd break this discussion out from the other topic I hijacked.

I've spent a lot of time trying to get Alex10/HA-Bridge working with Alexa.  It seems that other folks have had no issues getting it to work.

I'm usually better at doing this.

Based on some suggestions, here's what I've done:

I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate x64 and have an Asus RT-AC3100 router.  All wired hardware runs through an HP 24 port smart switch which connects to the router.

1. Completely uninstalled Alex10, including rebooting and deleting the jar file.
2. Removed the inbound java rules from my MS Windows Firewall.
3. Reinstalled Alex10 and set the port for HA-Bridge to 1024.  I've used other ports - 90,92,and 96 - previously as well.
4. When the bridge first started, I authorized the java security prompts for inbound rules, and clicked both the private and public settings.  There are no prompts for outbound rules.  I set no user and password in the bridge.
5. I can control my X10 devices through Alex10 and HA-Bridge with no problem.
6. Even though I have AHP installed, it isn't running.
7.  I rebooted and Alex10 and the bridge started with no issues.  I retested connectivity through both processes with no issues.
8.  I then ran Alexa's Discover Devices and got bupkis.
9.  I tried port forwarding port 1024 to the computer which made no difference.
10.  I installed the Merlin firmware for the router thing perhaps the stock Asus firmware wasn't handling UpNp correctly.  It is activated on the router.  This made no difference.

So - I'm at a loss.

I'm attaching the settings for HA-Bridge from the web page for comparison of anybody's setup that has time to have a look.

I've searched Google in hopes someone else had this issue and solved it with no luck,

I hope someone can shed some light on this.
« Last Edit: May 16, 2017, 03:30:20 pm by mldenison »
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3142
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Alexa Hates Alex
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2017, 04:39:18 am »

the issue is the ha-bridge though I'm not sure exactly what yet.
I'm attempting to setup at my off grid location now and running into the same issue.
this is a dsl connection so that might be a issue. setting up a url reservation may help so I'll attempt that latter today
 
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

mldenison

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Re: Alexa Hates Alex
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2017, 06:17:18 am »

Good luck, Tom.  I had also tried the latest ha-bridge build with no luck.
Logged

mldenison

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Re: Alexa Hates Alex
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2017, 12:20:47 pm »

Have you found anything yet?  I looked for a HA-Bridge forum and did a Google search on the issue with no luck.  There's not exactly any tech support on it.  Which i understand since it's free.  I've been all through my router settings and see nothing.  But I know little about uPnP stuff.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3142
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Alexa Hates Alex
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2017, 05:32:04 am »

I've not found any thing yet but am starting to think it is a router issue on my end.
I've made sure my PC is discoverable to other devices on my network which I was sure was the issue but still no go. You may wish to check that setting in your PCs connection options.
I can access the bridge from another PC and trigger events So the dot may need some router Wi-Fi permissions which I've turned off.
 I seem to have forgotten the router password so I can't get in and play with settings without doing a total factory reset ( not ready to do that yet)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

mldenison

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Re: Alexa Hates Alex
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2017, 10:05:52 am »

I've gone through my router extensively and don't see anything that would block uPnP, either wired or wireless.  I've tried it both ways.  I've mentioned Blue Iris with some control via Alexa.  It shows up in Alexa as Blue Iris - Hue Light.  When setting it up, the user presses a screen button, 'Connect to Alexa'.  A pop-up screen is then displayed with a message that 'uPnP has been activated and to tell Alexa to discover devices'.  After discovery, it shows up in Alexa as a Smart Home device.  All this tells me is that uPnP is working through my router.

I'm not sure how Ken does this in his code, but by the user name generated in BI, he's probably using HA-Bridge somehow since the user name starts with HA.

This is most perplexing.
Logged

mldenison

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Re: Alexa Hates Alex
« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2017, 11:39:42 am »

From the trace log (upnp only), it looks like ha-bridge is sending a message to the Echo, but the connect is not being acknowledged by the Echo.  I'm not sure what the 'description.xml' refers to.  There's not a file by that name in the data directory:

Code: [Select]
05-22-2017 13:23:48.360
INFO Traceupnp: isSSDPDiscovery found message to be an M-SEARCH message.

05-22-2017 13:23:48.360
INFO Traceupnp: isSSDPDiscovery found message to be valid under strict rules - strict: true

05-22-2017 13:23:48.360
INFO Traceupnp: SSDP packet from 192.168.1.236:50000, body: M-SEARCH * HTTP/1.1
 HOST: 239.255.255.250:1900
 MAN: "ssdp:discover"
 MX: 15
 ST: urn:schemas-upnp-org:device:basic:1
 
05-22-2017 13:23:48.360
INFO Traceupnp: sendUpnpResponse discovery responseTemplate1 is <<<HTTP/1.1 200 OK
 HOST: 239.255.255.250:1900
 CACHE-CONTROL: max-age=100
 EXT:
 LOCATION: http://localhost:8080/description.xml
 SERVER: Linux/3.14.0 UPnP/1.0 IpBridge/1.15.0
 hue-bridgeid: 000088FFFE00BBEE
 ST: upnp:rootdevice
 USN: uuid:2f402f80-da50-11e1-9b23-00008800bbee::upnp:rootdevice >>>

05-22-2017 13:23:48.360
INFO Traceupnp: sendUpnpResponse discovery responseTemplate2 is <<<HTTP/1.1 200 OK
 HOST: 239.255.255.250:1900
 CACHE-CONTROL: max-age=100
 EXT:
 LOCATION: http://localhost:8080/description.xml
 SERVER: Linux/3.14.0 UPnP/1.0 IpBridge/1.15.0
 hue-bridgeid: 000088FFFE00BBEE
 ST: uuid:2f402f80-da50-11e1-9b23-00008800bbee
 USN: uuid:2f402f80-da50-11e1-9b23-00008800bbee >>>

05-22-2017 13:23:48.360
INFO Traceupnp: sendUpnpResponse discovery responseTemplate3 is <<<HTTP/1.1 200 OK
 HOST: 239.255.255.250:1900
 CACHE-CONTROL: max-age=100
 EXT:
 LOCATION: http://localhost:8080/description.xml
 SERVER: Linux/3.14.0 UPnP/1.0 IpBridge/1.15.0
 hue-bridgeid: 000088FFFE00BBEE
 ST: urn:schemas-upnp-org:device:basic:1
 USN: uuid:2f402f80-da50-11e1-9b23-00008800bbee >>>

05-22-2017 13:24:06.368
INFO Traceupnp: sendUpnpNotify notifyTemplate is <<<NOTIFY * HTTP/1.1
 HOST: 239.255.255.250:1900
 CACHE-CONTROL: max-age=100
 LOCATION: http://localhost:8080/description.xml
 SERVER: Linux/3.14.0 UPnP/1.0 IpBridge/1.15.0
 NTS: ssdp:alive
 hue-bridgeid: 000088FFFE00BBEE
 NT: uuid:2f402f80-da50-11e1-9b23-00008800bbee
 USN: uuid:2f402f80-da50-11e1-9b23-00008800bbee >>>

05-22-2017 13:24:26.799
INFO Traceupnp: sendUpnpNotify notifyTemplate is <<<NOTIFY * HTTP/1.1
 HOST: 239.255.255.250:1900
 CACHE-CONTROL: max-age=100
 LOCATION: http://localhost:8080/description.xml
 SERVER: Linux/3.14.0 UPnP/1.0 IpBridge/1.15.0
 NTS: ssdp:alive
 hue-bridgeid: 000088FFFE00BBEE
 NT: uuid:2f402f80-da50-11e1-9b23-00008800bbee
 USN: uuid:2f402f80-da50-11e1-9b23-00008800bbee >>>

05-22-2017 13:24:46.828
INFO Traceupnp: sendUpnpNotify notifyTemplate is <<<NOTIFY * HTTP/1.1
 HOST: 239.255.255.250:1900
 CACHE-CONTROL: max-age=100
 LOCATION: http://localhost:8080/description.xml
 SERVER: Linux/3.14.0 UPnP/1.0 IpBridge/1.15.0
 NTS: ssdp:alive
 hue-bridgeid: 000088FFFE00BBEE
 NT: uuid:2f402f80-da50-11e1-9b23-00008800bbee
 USN: uuid:2f402f80-da50-11e1-9b23-00008800bbee >>>

05-22-2017 13:25:06.866
INFO Traceupnp: sendUpnpNotify notifyTemplate is <<<NOTIFY * HTTP/1.1
 HOST: 239.255.255.250:1900
 CACHE-CONTROL: max-age=100
 LOCATION: http://localhost:8080/description.xml
 SERVER: Linux/3.14.0 UPnP/1.0 IpBridge/1.15.0
 NTS: ssdp:alive
 hue-bridgeid: 000088FFFE00BBEE
 NT: uuid:2f402f80-da50-11e1-9b23-00008800bbee
 USN: uuid:2f402f80-da50-11e1-9b23-00008800bbee >>>

05-22-2017 13:25:26.892
INFO Traceupnp: sendUpnpNotify notifyTemplate is <<<NOTIFY * HTTP/1.1
 HOST: 239.255.255.250:1900
 CACHE-CONTROL: max-age=100
 LOCATION: http://localhost:8080/description.xml
 SERVER: Linux/3.14.0 UPnP/1.0 IpBridge/1.15.0
 NTS: ssdp:alive
 hue-bridgeid: 000088FFFE00BBEE
 NT: uuid:2f402f80-da50-11e1-9b23-00008800bbee
 USN: uuid:2f402f80-da50-11e1-9b23-00008800bbee >>>

05-22-2017 13:25:46.919
INFO Traceupnp: sendUpnpNotify notifyTemplate is <<<NOTIFY * HTTP/1.1
 HOST: 239.255.255.250:1900
 CACHE-CONTROL: max-age=100
 LOCATION: http://localhost:8080/description.xml
 SERVER: Linux/3.14.0 UPnP/1.0 IpBridge/1.15.0
 NTS: ssdp:alive
 hue-bridgeid: 000088FFFE00BBEE
 NT: uuid:2f402f80-da50-11e1-9b23-00008800bbee
 USN: uuid:2f402f80-da50-11e1-9b23-00008800bbee >>>

05-22-2017 13:26:06.945
INFO Traceupnp: sendUpnpNotify notifyTemplate is <<<NOTIFY * HTTP/1.1
 HOST: 239.255.255.250:1900
 CACHE-CONTROL: max-age=100
 LOCATION: http://localhost:8080/description.xml
 SERVER: Linux/3.14.0 UPnP/1.0 IpBridge/1.15.0
 NTS: ssdp:alive
 hue-bridgeid: 000088FFFE00BBEE
 NT: uuid:2f402f80-da50-11e1-9b23-00008800bbee
 USN: uuid:2f402f80-da50-11e1-9b23-00008800bbee >>>
« Last Edit: May 22, 2017, 11:51:41 am by mldenison »
Logged

mldenison

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Re: Alexa Now Loves Alex
« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2017, 03:51:49 pm »

Forget all the above.  I replaced the default UPNP IP Address on the Web Bridge Control Tab with the IP address the computer uses and all lights were discovered and working.

I apologize for the headaches.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3142
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Alexa Hates Alex
« Reply #8 on: May 23, 2017, 02:33:38 am »

Glad you figured it out.  (GJ)
I'm not sure why localhost seems to work for some but not others.
Or why Alex10 will write the machines IP some times but not others. ::) :`)
I'll look into the Alex10 code to see if I can change how it adds the local Address to HA-Bridge.
Something may have been changed in the latest version of the bridge which prevents this for security.
For those experiencing the same issue go into the bridge and change the localhost to your PCs IP (see attached)
be sure to click save when done.
Note: this was my issue at my off grid cottage
« Last Edit: May 23, 2017, 02:36:16 am by Tuicemen »
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

mldenison

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Re: Alexa Hates Alex
« Reply #9 on: May 24, 2017, 03:55:57 pm »

Once figured out, I uninstalled Alex10 to move it to another directory.

I then got an error message when trying to newly configure the bridge for port & IP.   I also got an error when trying to add lights.  I fixed it by replacing localhost with the PC's IP and the bridge port # in the device.db and habridge.config files.
 
FYI

Now if I could schedule a light to come on or go off at a particular time, I'd be set.

I am having an issue with a lamp on an appliance module.  Alexa will turn it off every time, but never turns it on when told to do so.  It's not configured as a dimming or soft start device.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2017, 03:58:31 pm by mldenison »
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3142
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Alexa Hates Alex
« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2017, 04:48:59 pm »

Since Alex10 was designed to enhance AHP use it to handle timers.

lights/appliances behaving as you describe usually indicates a noise or signal sucker.
However if this behaviour doesn't happen when you send the command from the bridge web interface or from the ALex10 UI then the issue is in how Alexa understands the device name. If this is the case try renaming the device.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

brobin

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
Re: Alexa Hates Alex
« Reply #11 on: May 27, 2017, 09:27:53 am »

Is the lamp that's plugged into the appliance module a CFL or LED bulb? If so, those can generate noise that prevents the module from hearing the OFF command. When the bulb is off it doesn't generate noise so the ON command is received in the clear.  To test for this condition try using an incandescent bulb or some other appliance, like a fan. However, if you're using a LAMP module rather than an Appliance module don't test with anything but an incandescent bulb that is at least 40 watts.
 I recently had a similar problem with an Appliance (Fixture) Module I use to control my pool light. When it burnt out I replaced the incandescent bulb with an LED bulb and had the same problem you're experiencing.  My solution, found at the jvde.us website, was to use a hash choke (see ebay) in series with the hot lead going to the bulb after the module. A plug in noise blocker (X10 XPPF or similar) between the module and the lamp should also do the trick.
Logged

mgtr

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: Alexa Hates Alex
« Reply #12 on: May 27, 2017, 11:19:39 am »

A month ago, everything was hunky-dory.  Alexa worked with Alex10 to turn things on and off.  Then we left town for a month, and now the above statements are untrue.  I can run the bridge from Chrome and turn things on and off, but Alex10 shows no devices, and discovery on Alexa also yields no devices.  I have changed the inbound permissions for Java (that was the last puzzle piece a month ago) and they are still changed. 
I read with interest the whole series of posts on Alexa hates Alex10, and figured that was my problem.  So, I changed the IP on the bridge control panel, and saved the result.  (To get the IP, I just typed IP into my browser and it returned an IP-looking number).  Still nothing on Alex10 control panel.
I know, the moral is don't go away for a month, but I cannot undo that.  What do I try next?
Logged

mgtr

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: Alexa Hates Alex
« Reply #13 on: May 27, 2017, 02:57:28 pm »

OK, I need to modify the above.  I switched to ipconfig to find my ip, and then put that into the bridge.  When I told Alexa to discover devices, Alexa said that she found them all, but they were not listed in the Alex10 control panel.  When I tried to use Alexa to change the state of a device, it didn't work. 
So, I am close to having the problem solved, but no banana yet.  Help!
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3142
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Alexa Hates Alex
« Reply #14 on: May 28, 2017, 03:37:31 am »

The issue most likely was you didn't have your PC set to a static IP.
When the router rebooted your PC was given a different IP
Alex10 is still trying to use that IP and so was the Bridge.
Be sure the IP in Alex10 is the same as what you set in the bridge.
To help avoid this in the future set your PC to use a static IP.
https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/19249/how-to-assign-a-static-ip-address-in-xp-vista-or-windows-7/
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!
Pages: [1] 2