Tuicemen.com

Advanced search  

News:

Alex10  (Build 1.5.3.5 ) is now  available for download ~:0~

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: HA-Bridge updates can require users to reset firewall settings  (Read 171 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com

As pointed out in other threads, a new Bridge version install can require one to have to review their fire wall settings.
For some this isn't a big deal for others it can be a real pain.
In order to make updating as painless as possible I'm thinking of not including newer Bridge versions in the Alex10 update done threw the interface and only include it in a full installer.
I'm looking for feed back on this.
Majority will rule!
Note: Updating to version 4.2.1 of the HA-Bridge will require you to adjust your firewall settings for java  :(
« Last Edit: March 12, 2017, 05:41:41 am by Tuicemen »
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: HA-Bridge updates can require users to reset firewall settings
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2017, 12:48:04 pm »

I'm going to add code so users will be able to select if they wish to install the new bridge or not.
However this option won't be available until updating from 1.5.2.9 +  :(
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

IPS

  • Beta Tester
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
Re: HA-Bridge updates can require users to reset firewall settings
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2017, 01:26:31 am »

I feel that is a good choice. I also think that should the inclusion be necessary for app to work properly then it should automatically get installed without any option to select.
Logged
Pages: [1]