Tuicemen.com

Advanced search  

News:

Alex10  (Build 1.5.3.5 ) is now  available for download ~:0~

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4

Author Topic: Soft Start Wall Switch issue  (Read 1351 times)

alzy

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 168
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #30 on: February 14, 2017, 04:33:37 am »

Would also Dim soft touch wall switch but not brighten.

What next ?
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #31 on: February 14, 2017, 05:55:41 am »

1. U need "_" between DIM and $
2. Alexa Command That worked: Lamp "TO" x%     not "Dim"
3. Worked for dimming not brightening
4. Test was with lamp module and incand. bulb
1: you need line exactly as I posted less the module address
2:?
3:that is what I expected.
Did you try Brighten in place of Dim?
What did you say to Alexa?
4: OK
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

alzy

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 168
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #32 on: February 14, 2017, 06:15:24 am »

1. U need "_" between DIM and $
2. Alexa Command That worked: Lamp "TO" x%     not "Dim"
3. Worked for dimming not brightening
4. Test was with lamp module and incand. bulb
1: you need line exactly as I posted less the module address
2:?
3:that is what I expected.
Did you try Brighten in place of Dim?
What did you say to Alexa?
4: OK
1. As I said it Would not work without the "_" between Dim and {
2." Alexa Office Light Dim 50%" did not work." Alexa Office Light To 50%" did work
3. Brighten did not work. Tried:
Alexa Office Light To 50%
Alexa Office Light Brighten 50%
Alexa Office Light brighten To 50%
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #33 on: February 14, 2017, 06:26:59 am »


3. Brighten did not work. Tried:
Alexa Office Light To 50%
Alexa Office Light Brighten 50%
Alexa Office Light brighten To 50%

I found I had a higher success saying  the command prior to the device name
At least for on/offs ??? ::) :`)

The HA-Bridge readme recommends:
Alexa, turn off <Device Name>
Alexa, turn on <Device Name>
Alexa, brighten <Device Name> to <Position>
Alexa, dim <Device Name> to <Position>
Alexa, brighten <Device Name>
Alexa, dim <Device Name>
Alexa, set <Device Name> to <Position>

Due to how the X10 protocol is written and how the Bridge sends commands we have to experiment to see what works best for our personal setups.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

alzy

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 168
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #34 on: February 14, 2017, 06:47:02 am »

I just tried that and did not work . Repeated earlier tests. Got same results I got the first time.
Logged

alzy

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 168
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #35 on: February 14, 2017, 06:57:37 am »

FYI, x10Commander does brighten
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #36 on: February 14, 2017, 08:01:19 am »

X10 commander isn't Alexa
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #37 on: February 14, 2017, 08:06:30 am »

Just looked over code you should be sending Bright not Brighten (my bad) :-[ (CZB)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

alzy

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 168
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #38 on: February 14, 2017, 08:06:53 am »

I know, but its my way of verifying that my pc and cm19a can process a brighten command and that the light will respond correctly. So that leaves Alexa, the bridge, or Alex10 as the issue.
Logged

alzy

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 168
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #39 on: February 14, 2017, 08:08:34 am »

Just looked over code you should be sending Bright not Brighten (my bad) :-[ (CZB)
Ok will try again.
Logged

alzy

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 168
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #40 on: February 14, 2017, 08:25:39 am »

Now it turn light on to 100 % regardless of spoken % and subsequent bri commands don't have affect.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #41 on: February 14, 2017, 08:42:51 am »

Now?
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

alzy

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 168
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #42 on: February 14, 2017, 09:00:04 am »

By sending "bright" instead of "Brighten" lamp responds by turning on 100% regardless of spoken %, and subsequent bright commands don't have ant affect.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #43 on: February 14, 2017, 09:07:50 am »

but brighten did nothing only dim
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

alzy

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 168
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #44 on: February 14, 2017, 09:12:18 am »

Correct.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4