Tuicemen.com

Advanced search  

News:

Share your Automated House and Ideas in the Members Section! :0~

Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: Soft Start Wall Switch issue  (Read 1900 times)

alzy

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 168
Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« on: February 11, 2017, 04:53:01 am »

Running most recent version with cm19a controller. Works fine with lamp module and incandescent bulb, not with Soft Start Wall Switch and incandescent bulb. Won't turn on even though window says command executed. LED on cm19a doesn't flash on turn on most of the time.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3150
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2017, 05:36:32 am »

There was no change to the code for sending ON/Off for last update.
The issue your seeing is that for new devices you added to Alex10 or for previously added and were working devices?
Alex10 doesn't send different code for soft start devices and it never did.


Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

alzy

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 168
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2017, 07:47:00 am »

Deleted and re-entered device. Still have same issue, It looks like the wall switch is getting set to zero brightness somehow so turning on/off appears to have no affect. If I manually set light to full at the wall switch then I can turn off via Alex10. If I then try to turn it on via Alex10, it starts to increase in brightness then just dims down to zero and I have to again reset manually at the wall to get any control.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3150
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2017, 08:02:11 am »

Was this switch in Alex10 Prior to latest version?
The old batch files may not have been remove and new info added to them which will screw with things.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

alzy

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 168
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2017, 08:09:18 am »

No. I added this device for first time after last update.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3150
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2017, 08:17:14 am »

OK now I know where to look.
How many times did you add/delete?
Since this slowly dims I suspect this was entered as dim able correct?
If so have you tried the dim?
At the light switch reset it then issue a on command wait and see if it goes dim.


Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

alzy

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 168
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2017, 09:13:44 am »

entered 3 times, I think, deleted twice. First 2 times entered as dimmable. last time not dimmable.
So to do your test, I rentered as dimmable (30%). Reset at wall leaving full on. Alex10 Dims it . Then turned off with Alex10.. turn off. Then turned on with Alex10 and it starts to come on then dims to zero. After which Alex10 has no control. have to reset at wall.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3150
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2017, 09:20:33 am »

1:Reset the switch On/then off then leave off
2:Send only a ON from Alexa not Alex10
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3150
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2017, 09:33:40 am »

I had a softstart switch go and that's the way it acted prior.
this may be what is going on.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

alzy

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 168
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #9 on: February 11, 2017, 09:45:33 am »

Ok, reset as directed. With Alexa ON,  it starts to come on then dims to zero
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3150
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #10 on: February 11, 2017, 10:44:20 am »

ok send me the ON.bat file for that light
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

alzy

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 168
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #11 on: February 11, 2017, 11:10:54 am »

Gmail blocks .bat files!

BTW AHP verifies that wall switch is in On state and zero intensity! So that is why it does not seem to respond to On command.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3150
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #12 on: February 11, 2017, 11:12:30 am »

rename the bat file to baz
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

alzy

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 168
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #13 on: February 11, 2017, 11:14:47 am »

sent it as .txt
Logged

alzy

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 168
Re: Soft Start Wall Switch issue
« Reply #14 on: February 11, 2017, 11:19:23 am »

the switch will work properly with on/off commands until you send it one dim. then it gets stuck in this mode until reset at wall
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4