Tuicemen.com

Advanced search  

News:

Share your Automated House and Ideas in the Members Section! :0~

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Alex10 Macros & Timers?  (Read 317 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3144
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Alex10 Macros & Timers?
« on: February 09, 2017, 10:58:46 am »

I've read posts elsewhere  users asking for macros and or timers for Alexa.
Since Alex10 was created for use with Alexa something may be able to be created at least for x10 devices.
Alex10 was also created to work along with AHP which already has powerful macro capabilities.
I'll look at adding code for macros/timers shortly but I need to see there is some demand and what direction to take.
« Last Edit: February 09, 2017, 11:02:25 am by Tuicemen »
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3144
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Alex10 Macros & Timers?
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2017, 12:15:01 pm »

My Idea for a timer is for allowing and disallowing Alexa to see and trigger specific devices.
The Mapped devices are kind of a simple macro, maybe that can be expanded on. :o ??? ::) :`)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

IPS

  • Beta Tester
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
Re: Alex10 Macros & Timers?
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2017, 01:17:48 am »

I would like to see BVC replaced by Alexa. Now with Alex 10 AHP doesn't need to be running so a way has to be found to run macros that are stored on PC. I tried some CM15A based macro but with only partial success i.e. Only 1 off 4 devices would turn on/off.
I also liked the addition of IP cam to Alex 10.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3144
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Alex10 Macros & Timers?
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2017, 05:55:24 am »

Once Alex10 is running to my satisfaction I'll turn my development towards revamping PCC.
PCC though never designed to replace BVC, it has for me.
PCC has many macro/timer possibilities which are and aren't possible in AHP.
The new PCC will be highly integrated with Alexa maybe more so then Alex10.

That being said Alex10 wasn't designed to replace AHP but to work with it and Alexa.
X10 asked me to create Alex10 so to eliminate the need for AHP isn't right.
Expanding on its possibilities would be.
Post examples of what it is your trying to do and I'll see what can be done.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

IPS

  • Beta Tester
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
Re: Alex10 Macros & Timers?
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2017, 01:35:00 am »

I would like to store all macros on CM15A so that PC running AHP is no longer running 24/7. Right now I have 2PCs running one with Alex 10 and other AHP. I Need to run 2nd one for AHP smartphone app that is the which life jacket does not have. So to use it I have to keep 2nd PC on, this one has XP pro OS and original 3.318 and I don't want to add any app to this PC unless I want the risk of loosing full functionality of AHP.
I also have X10 commander on my iPhone and use it all all the time but at times I need to use AHP phone app because I controls all devices and macros that are on AHP while X10 commander only controls what is activated.
 So if you could combine in one app, and I know you are quite capable off doing it, AHP smartphone app, BVC, X10 commander PCc and Alex 10 and all running on one PC which should haibernate like Alexa and wake up only when Alexa needs it. That would make it a perfect app for X10 sys and may be for others too. And I will be happy to assist you in anyway I can.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3144
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Alex10 Macros & Timers?
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2017, 03:56:15 am »

Unfortunately the CM15 isn't capable of handling some macros and its memory isn't very large.
the new X10 Wi-Fi module is to have a much larger memory but I'm afraid some macros won't be able to be stored on it as well :(

Actually Lifejacket is capable of adding ActiveHome phone and or Activehome Phone Pro to AHP.
If you send me the ID and x10prod.sys file from your XP machine I can create the required files for Win 10 for you. (you should back up that info anyways)

Also PCC already works like Alex10 in that it doesn't need to be running for most things to work.
Thanks for the vote of confidence for combining every thing. I'm pretty sure PCC does every thing BVC can now,if not let me know what it is missing in a PCC suggestion thread.
PCC will get all alex10 code in a future build.
AH Phone and X10commander are phone apps so it is just a server running much like X10relayer does  allowing TAC only it uses UDP.
I was hoping HA-bridge would get some security added to it so you could access from the web then a extra server wouldn't be required.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

IPS

  • Beta Tester
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
Re: Alex10 Macros & Timers?
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2017, 07:01:33 am »

Will send you the files after few days.
Thanks for the offer. It will save some extra hydro.
Logged
Pages: [1]