Tuicemen.com

Advanced search  

News:

Alex10  (Build 1.5.3.5 ) is now  available for download ~:0~

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Alex10 SmartPhone App  (Read 770 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Alex10 SmartPhone App
« on: February 05, 2017, 10:55:37 am »

You can currently access the bridge with a smartphone or any device that has a network connection inside your network.
You can also do it if you port forward However I strongly advise against this.
Why? Because from the bridge anyone can create a script and activate it as there is no security yet coded into the bridge.
I've thought about reworking X10Relayer or Ultralight to enable them to interface with Alex10 and the bridge. X10relayer would then allow a TAC (android app) interface.

Ultimately it would be best if the HA-Bridge had some security built in then one could pass commands directly to it from a smartphone.
I've been putting off doing anything on this front as I'm not sure what the demand would be.
If you'd be interested would you want voice control from your phone or a simple button press option or both. ???
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

IPS

  • Beta Tester
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
Re: Alex10 SmartPhone App
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2017, 11:16:09 am »

Quote
If you'd be interested would you want voice control from your phone or a simple button press option or both

I am interested in both. Although I am very happy using X10 commander but I would like to use Alexa too.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Alex10 SmartPhone App
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2017, 04:54:46 pm »

I'm still on the fence about working on this ??? ::) :`).
I would have thought there would have been more input either for or against.
If I move forward it would be geared towards the bridge so all devices not just X10 could be controlled.
Since a small server would be require would users like to see some sort of web page?
Or just notifications of sent commands?
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

alzy

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 168
Re: Alex10 SmartPhone App
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2017, 07:25:21 am »

I vote for web page!
Logged

IPS

  • Beta Tester
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
Re: Alex10 SmartPhone App
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2017, 01:37:18 am »

Quote
Since a small server would be require would users like to see some sort of web page?
Or just notifications of sent commands?

I am not sure what you mean. Could you explain a bit?
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Alex10 SmartPhone App
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2017, 04:44:13 am »

A web server would be needed to pass info from the app to HA-Bridge as HA-Bridge has no web security. I could do this via UDP as well as TCP but with the server it is possible to display a webpage which one could got to directly.
With out a web page going to the site would simply display a OK or blank screen.
The webpage could be set to display status info as well as maybe the possibility to control devices thought I'd want additional security for that.

So I guess the next question for those wanting a web page what would you like to be able to do on it?
1:just read and see status?
2:control devices?
3:or both?
4:or other things?
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Alex10 SmartPhone App
« Reply #6 on: March 20, 2017, 11:31:18 am »

So it looks like log on ID is going to be added to the bridge perhaps in the next release (4.3.2?)  `:) ~:0~
Depending on how this works there may not be a need for an additional web server and a Smartphone could access it directly. However I doubt configuration would be easy on a small screen.
This will help with the creation of a phone app as commands can be passed directly to the Bridge without a middle man. `:) ~:0~
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Alex10 SmartPhone App
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2017, 10:33:48 am »

Just checking the HA-bridge issues on GitHub and I noticed a version release the authorization adds  will be implemented (4.5.0)
Since several items have been tagged with this version # I suspect it will be soon.
Once this is rolled out I'll start looking at a possible Android interface app. (Chr)
« Last Edit: March 28, 2017, 02:38:09 pm by Tuicemen »
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Alex10 SmartPhone App
« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2017, 03:08:08 pm »

So an Alfa build is out of the bridge with security option. `:) ~:0~
This version isn't compatible with Alex10 if security is enabled yet.
However over the next few days I'll be playing with this version and code to allow Alex10 to use the security feature if engaged.
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Alex10 SmartPhone App
« Reply #9 on: April 05, 2017, 04:43:34 am »

Has anyone used the HA-Bridge from their smartphone?
What browser did you use?
Would that be sufficient as the web page?
I'm still contemplating ideas for an Android App.
Sadly there will be no Apple app created from me to interface with the bridge. (I Just don't have the tools)
 
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

sniickers

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Alex10 SmartPhone App
« Reply #10 on: April 06, 2017, 04:41:39 pm »

I have accessed the ha bridge from my note 4 cell, I used chrome. Pretty straight forward.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Alex10 SmartPhone App
« Reply #11 on: April 07, 2017, 07:30:06 am »

Thanks sniickers,
I had assumed Chrome would work though my old smartphone won't run chrome.
Hopefully I'll have better luck with my new one which I hope to get next month.
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

alzy

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 168
Re: Alex10 SmartPhone App
« Reply #12 on: April 08, 2017, 06:37:13 am »

Chrome on my ipod touch only shows 2 bridge devices with no scroll bar capability to access the rest.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Alex10 SmartPhone App
« Reply #13 on: April 08, 2017, 01:59:30 pm »

 (DH) :(
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

IPS

  • Beta Tester
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
Re: Alex10 SmartPhone App
« Reply #14 on: April 09, 2017, 11:52:17 pm »

I just opened bridge both on ipad 2 and iPhone . See all devices on both. With ipad Was able to turn on a light but not off. With iPhone because of screen size could not see all the columns so could not do any thing. Noticed that row spacing is almost 3/4 of the screen size. Looks like system tries to bring other columns in view but does not happen. This of course is a preliminary checking. Will do more latter.
So the next steps should be:
1. To launch the bridge by asking SIRI and then
2. Asking SIRI to turn on/off devices. And that would be great and step ahead of Alexa. Of course it would have to be from Internet.  :0~
Logged
Pages: [1] 2